Jury 2014

Feature Jury


Sebastian Hofmann

Sebastian Hofmann
Director in Residence

Sebastian Hofmann is an emerging Mexican filmmaker whose films have been presented at the IFFR Hivos Tiger Awards, Locarno, and Sundance, among other prestigious festivals. HALLEY, his first feature, has been selected by over 50 festivals, winning nine international awards, including the East End Film Festival Best feature Award in 2013.


Eddie Berg

Eddie Berg is the Director of Partnerships at the BFI. Former Artistic Director of BFI Southbank, he was also formerly the founder and Chief Executive of the Foundation for Art and Creative Technology (FACT) in Liverpool. He is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.


Gillian Wearing OBE RA

English photographer and video artist, Wearing has described her working method as ‘editing life’. By using photography and video to record the confessions of ordinary people, her work explores the disparities between public and private life, between individual and collective experience..


Mark Adams

Mark Adams is chief film critic for both Screen International and the Sunday Mirror. An experienced festival attendee and juror, he is the author of several books on cinema, as well as a former programmer for the National Film Theatre and Director of Cinema at the Institute of Contemporary Arts.


Peter Straughan

Peter Straughan is a playwright, author, and Oscar nominated screenwriter. He has been writer-in-residence at Newcastle’s Live Theatre Company, and wrote the screenplays for The Men Who Stare at Goats, Frank and the upcoming television mini-series Wolf Hall, as well as co-writing the Oscar nominated, BAFTA winning screenplay for Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.

Documentary Jury


Iain and Jane credit-Victoria Will_Invision_AP

Iain Forsyth & Jane Pollard

Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard are British artists and filmmakers who create re-enactments of cultural and art events. Working together since the mid-nineties, their series about the works of Nick Cave have previously screened at the East End Film Festival. Their new film, 20,000 Days on Earth, is released in the autumn.

"5 Broken Cameras" Portraits - 2012 Sundance Film Festival

Emad Burnat

Emad Burnat is director and story teller of his documentary 5 Broken Cameras he is Palestinian farmer and filmmaker. He became the first Palestinian to be nominated for the Academy Award for Best Documentary Feature in 2013 for his film 5 Broken Cameras.


Shanida Scotland

Shanida Scotland has worked for Storyville, the BBC’s international documentary strand, since 2006. Helping to commission and develop documentaries for the strand, recent Storyville titles include Smash & Grab: The Story of the Pink Panthers and Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer (both screened at East End Film Festival 2013).

Tristan Bafta 2

Tristan Anderson

Tristan Anderson is a London based BAFTA winning documentary filmmaker whose films and TV shows have been broadcast in over 15 countries. His films have garnered national press coverage and his work focuses on a variety of areas and diverse subject matters. He is also the founder of DocHeads.

Shorts Jury



Chris & Ben Blaine

Renowned comic shorts duo the Blaine Brothers wow audiences across a variety of platforms. They have been featured by Screen International’s “Stars of Tomorrow”, have produced their own hit show at the Edinburgh Fringe, and are currently developing their first feature film, Nina Forever.


Eva Weber

Originally from Germany, Eva Weber is a London-based director working in documentary and fiction. Her film The Solitary Life of Cranes was described as ‘one of the most absorbing documentaries of the year’ by The Observer. Her most recent documentary, Black Out, screened at the East End Film Festival last year.

© www.awheadshots.com 2010

Clint Dyer

Clint Dyer is an actor, writer, director and producer who has been involved with films, plays and television for more than 20 years. He directed The Westbridge at The Royal Court, produced and starred in Sus (EEFF 2010), and has directed several award-winning short films.

Soundtrack Jury


fay milton

Fay Milton

Fay Milton is the drummer in Savages, one of the most exciting, critically acclaimed bands in the UK. Outside music, Fay also directs and produces films specialising in music documentary, live music filmmaking and comedy.

Jules Woods

Jules Woods

Working in Film & TV sound for over 12 years, Jules has worked on some of the UK’s most creative TV dramas, comedies and independent feature films as well as many major foreign version feature releases such as The Hobbit – An Unexpected Journey (2012), The Dark Knight Rises (2012), and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (2011).

Graham Hartstone

Graham Hartstone

Graham V. Hartstone is a British sound engineer, nominated for three Academy Awards for Best Sound. His work includes Aliens (1986), Blade Runner (1982), and Eyes Wide Shut (1999).

Ari Benjamin Meyers

Ari Benjamin Meyers

Ari Benjamin Meyers lives and works in Berlin. Trained as a composer and conductor, his work has been increasingly present in the contemporary art context since 2007, working with artists such as Anri Sala, Tino Sehgal, and Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster.


Karl Hyde

Karl Hyde is one of the lead members of the electronic music group Underworld. Last year he released a solo album, Edgeland, and composed the score for The Outer Edges, winner of last year’s Best Soundtrack Award.

Accession Award Jury


barry ackroyd

Barry Ackroyd

Barry Ackroyd BSC is a versatile cinematographer. Ackroyd’s name is most associated with veteran director Ken Loach for whom he has shot no fewer than 12 films, including the Cannes Film Festival Golden Palm-winning The Wind That Shakes The Barley. He has also worked with Paul Greengrass as well as Kathryn Bigelow on The Hurt Locker

Leave a Reply