The East End Film Festival’s established awards system includes:


Reserved for first and second features, the EEFF’s Best Film award is awarded to one outstanding feature film in the festival programme. That film’s director is invited to return to the festival the following year as the EEFF Director-in-Residence, and to co-curate a selection of cutting edge films from their country as part of the EEFF’s annual national focus. Last year’s jury included Armando Bo (Argentinian writer/director), Peter Bradshaw (novelist and film critic), Nicolas Gonda (Tugg, Inc. co-founder), Sally El Hosaini (director), RZA (Wu-Tang Clan) and Divine (Wu-Tang Clan).


An award recognising the most unique, human and arresting real-life stories presented at the festival, utilising all of the power of cinema. Last year’s jury included Niklas Engstrøm (Head of Programmer of CPH:DOX), Iain Sinclair (writer, filmmaker, poet and author of “Downriver”), Morgan Spurlock (director of the award-winning documentary “SuperSize Me”), Mark Stewart (founding member of The Pop Group) and Rachel Wexler (producer for Bungalow Town Productions).


Presented to the most powerful, arresting short film from a British filmmaker, or shot in the UK, in the past year. Last year’s jury included Martina Amati (director), Joe Bateman (director for Rushes Soho Shorts Festival), Nik Powell (Vice Chairman of the board of the European Film Academy) and Jodie Whittaker (actress).


Integral to the process of a film’s emotional journey, and to its story, is the soundtrack Recognising the essential role that musicians and composers play in creating great cinematic works of art, the EEFF Best Soundtrack Award is a vital, newly reinstated part of the festival’s award line-up. Last year’s jury included Jason Cooper (The Cure) and Rhys Webb (The Horrors).


Festivals may have programmers, juries and directors, but it’s the audience who really count. Audiences share their opinions with us after our shorts screenings, and cast their votes for their festival favourite.


The East End Accession Award will specifically celebrate a particular ‘craft’ or specialist role, with categories to include (but not be restricted to) editing, scriptwriting, sound design and art direction. Focusing on a different craft each year, and intended to celebrate an individual establishing a professional career within their chosen field, this year’s EEFF Accession Award will champion the art of Cinematography.

East End Film Festival 2013 winners

East End Film Festival 2012 winners

East End Film Festival 2011 winners

East End Film Festival 2010 winners

East End Film Festival 2009 winners